# SPMS Monthly Minutes via Zoom

Date: Thursday, August 15, 2024

TERMINOLOGY: Motion - Second - Passed (MSP)

MEETING CALLED TO

7:33 PM Pacific Time

**ORDER** 

FACILITATOR Kenny Brisbin

**RECORDER** Lucila Davies

#### 1. ROLL CALL TO TAKE ATTENDANCE

#### Executive Committee, Contractors, and Committee Chair Attendees

- 1. Kenny Brisbin (LBG), Chair
- 2. Robin Smith (NOVA), Vice Chair
- 3. Bob Eberwine (SOBA), Treasurer
- 4. Lucila Davies (UMST), Secretary
- 5. Fiona Duncan (ROSE), Member-At-Large
- 6. Christie Ciraulo (WH2O), Open Water
- 7. Virgil Chancy (UC33), Diversity & Inclusion Chair
- 8. Cory Nguyen (RIPT), Coaches Chair
- 9. Anita Cole (LBG), Marketing
- 10. Robert Mitchell (MVN), History & Archives
- 11. Mary Jurey (WH2O), Fitness Chair
- 12. Alina de Armas (MVN), Officials

#### SPMS Member Attendees

- 13. Bart Parnes (LBG)
- 14. Ralph Porrazzo (ROSE)
- 15. Diana Dolan LaMar (MVN)
- 16. Beata Konopka (CVMM)
- 17. Beaky Cleavenger (CVMM)
- 18. Barbara Moore (MVN)

- 19. Jennifer Cooper (CVMM)
- 20. Errol Graham (WH2O)
- 21. Bill Sive (SWLB)
- 22. Sabrina Amigo (ROSE)
- 23. Bill Presant (DSST)
- 24. Teresa Frias (GRA)
- 25. Nancy Kirkpatrick-Reno (CVMM)

- 26. Mary Hull (UC33)
- 27. Chad Durieux (ROSE)
- 28. Dara Goldsmith (LVM)
- 29. Omar de Armas (UC33)
- 30. Tony Dual (RMDA)
- 31. CJ Wasner (UC33)
- 32. Ran Tao (UCLA)

Total 32

#### Executive Committee, Contractors, and Committee Chair Absentees

- 1. Jorge Ferrero (UC33), Newsletter Editor
- 2. Judi Divan (MVN), TopTen & Membership Coord.
- 3. Arlette Godges (SBM), Sports Medicine

## SPMS Monthly Minutes via Zoom

## Date: Thursday, August 15, 2024

TERMINOLOGY: Motion - Second - Passed (MSP)

#### 2. APPROVE MINUTES

Approved minutes from Thursday, July 18, 2024, monthly meeting. MSP.

#### 3. STANDING AGENDA

### **Executive Committee Reports**

Vice Chair

**Treasurer Report** 

July Balance Sheet

July Income Statement

July Budget vs Actuals

## **SPMS Committee Reports**

Meet Operations Committee

Program Development/Marketing Committee

**Open Water Committee** 

**Coaches Committee** 

## **Contractor Reports**

Membership Coordinator

Top Ten Recorder

#### **USMS** Committee Reports

No update from members of USMS Committees.

#### **5. OLD BUSINESS**

### • 2024 Relay Conference / NCC - Robin Smith

UPDATED	RELAY	NCC	BUDGET
	(12 delegates)	(9 attendees)	
Stipend	\$12,000 (\$1,000x12)	N/A	\$5,025 + \$7,500
Registration	\$3,900 (\$325x12)	SELF	\$1,750
Scholarship	N/A	\$6,750 (\$750x9)	\$5,000
Additional Hotel	\$400 (\$200x2)	N/A	
TOTALS	\$15,900	\$6,750	\$19,275
Estimated total for 10 RELAY Delegates	\$13,250 (\$10,000+\$3,250)	N/A	

<sup>\*</sup> Reports recorded above are the only submitted reports for the current month. Any others missing are due to no submitted report nor updates being reported. Reports recorded above are MSP.

## SPMS Monthly Minutes via Zoom

Date: Thursday, August 15, 2024

TERMINOLOGY: Motion - Second - Passed (MSP)

- Robin Smith motions to request \$3,500 to cover scholarships and stipends. MSP.
- Next Coaches Meeting via zoom on September 15th, at 7:30 pm third Sunday of each month.
- Paying Officials forming a committee
- Creating rules for distributing the SPMS newsletter; Robert Mitchell will have a written proposal of distribution rules for the next meeting.
- USMS Annual Meeting Ken Brisbin
  - It should have been sent to the entire database to solicit those interested in attending the USMS Annual meeting. But this year's process was to send it to those who have met the attendance requirements: 50%+1 instead.
- 2024 Progressive Mile Swim asked for a written proposal, including information on how the last event went.
- Vote on the nominated 2024 Annual Meeting Delegates Ken Bribin entertained a motion to approve those who requested to be delegates within our allotment of 10 from the list below. MSP.
- Delegates are:
  - Ken Bribin (automatic)
  - o Robin Smith (automatic)
  - o Lucila Davies
  - o Fiona Duncan
  - o Cory Nguyen
  - Virgil Chancy
  - o Robert Mitchell
  - o Anita Cole
  - Arlette Godges (automatic)
  - Jennifer Cooper
  - Omar de Armas (automatic)
  - o Diana Dolan LaMar (automatic)
  - Brandon Franklin (automatic)
  - o Mary Hull
  - o Beata Konopka
  - Alina de Armas

MSP TO ADJOURN AT

6. NEW BUSINESS

8:35 PM Pacific Time

**NEXT MEETING** 

September 19, 2024, via Zoom at 7:30 PM Pacific Time